Vructen Sla

Serves 4

The first time that I taste this fruit salad is when my relatives came to stay over on holidays for a couple of weeks. At one point they went to the supermarket with my mom and brought all of the ingredients to make some kind of fruit salad. They say that they were making ‘Vruchten Sla’, “wow, never heard of it?!?!” I said to myself. My relatives convinced me that it was delicious and that it will use mayonnaise and sweetened condensed milk as dressing. I thought it was bizarre, so I went outside to get some fresh air. When I came back a box of cold ‘Vruchten Sla’ was ready to serve. Hhhmm, it turns out to be very yummy, the combination made the salad sweet and creamy (“and fatty too” said the devil in my head, “No worries, I adore fatty food” replied I 😀 😀 :D)

For years I never knew the name of the salad nor where it came from. Until one day, a colleague of mine ordered some take aways and I saw that it was the same fruit salad that my relatives had made during the stay, long long time ago. I asked my colleague what it is, it is called “Vruchten Sla” a dessert from Manado-Sulawesi. Well, he definitely liked it very much and ordered it very often. I went to the food stall where he had bought it and it turned out to be very expensive per portion.

Making it at home is super savings, super easy and you can control the sweetness and the creaminess. All you have to do is dump all the ingredients in a bowl, mix well refrigerate. I like to make a whole box with heaps of shredded cheese and eat it little by little while watching TV.

Ingredients:
2 cans mixed fruits
1 cup grated cheese
1 cup of jelly
5 tbs sweetened condensed milk
3 tbs mayonaise

How to prepare:
-drain the fruits from the sugar water, and set in a bowl
-add all the other ingredients
-let it cool in the refrigerator for 20 minutes then serve

Tips!
-You can change to fresh fruits at any combination you like
-You can add little bits of pistachio when ready to serve
-You can change jelly with nata de coco

Leave a Reply

