Seafood Paella

Serves 4

The first time that I ate Paella was when I went on vacation with my family in Madrid. It was tasty what more can I say!! In my life, adding additional flavors to white rice will end up as fried rice but this is something different . I loved it, as time flies I still could fined paella in restaurants and most often in the rays of buffet selection in Carrefour or similar outlets. They taste cold, and usually the flavor runs out due to the constant light beam of the heating gadgets.

So, I got some recipes and cook it at home, because I want to have it for 2 meals, I dump them in the rice cooker but the taste it just…bleh! I saw some youtube videos and I was impressed by one video. It was just a fun video of a family gathering and how they prepare paella together with a big pan and ate it right away. So, I changes the way I cook it, with a pan..and ate it right away..and..and..and..I learned that if you want to keep it put it in a place and cover it with aluminium foil and heat it in the oven just to maintain the taste.

According to The Paella Company, paella was originally a laborers’ meal, cooked over an open fire in the fields and eaten directly from the pan using wooden spoons. Seafood is rare in the fields of Valencia, which is why they used chicken, rabbit, duck and snails. In Valencia things are a little different – there, making paella is a part of local pride and every mother claims to make the best paella in the land! (gospainabout.com)

Ingredients:
1 Chicken breast with skin
1 medium onion
1 fresh paprika
1 fresh red tomato
3 cups rice grains
1 tsp saffron
2 tsp paprika powder
1 cup white beans
1 cup shrimps
1 cup squid
1 cup clams

How to prepare:
-cut chicken into small pieces, set aside
-cut paprika into thin slices,set aside
-cut onion into thin long slices, set aside
-heat large pan with a little olive oil
-fry the onions and chicken until half done
-add the water
-when boiled, add salt, paprika powder, saffron
-add the rice grains, and stir well
-add the bean evenly
-when almost done add the fresh paprika and tomatoes
-add the squid, shrimps and clams as decorations
-turn of heat when cooked

3 thoughts on “Seafood Paella

Leave a Reply

