Mini Strawberry Cake

Makes 1 Mini Cake

Strawberries were cheap in the market so I bought a box. It has been quite a while that I wanted to make home made strawberry cake and I had tried 2-3 times but I wasn’t satisfied with the cake, I was looking for something but I don’t what?!?! Anyway, at that time I had the desire for some chiffon cake. So, I say to my self why don’t we combine the recipe. We take the chiffon cake recipe and add some cream and strawberries…I prepared all the stuff on the table and baked the chiffon cake, clean the burnt part. Combined it all together and with the left overs cream, I colored it pinky because I ran out of ideas. I put it in the fridge for a while and served it as dinner dessert…and OMG..my eyes almost popped out of joyfullness! I was very happy, this was the recipe I was looking for. You see, every festive day, we usually get special cake from one of the biggest national catering company. I loved it, it was white cream cake with assorted fruits or black forest. In my entire life, I can say, nobody can beat the wonderful taste that they can produce. It was light, fluffy and when you swallow it is like tickling your throat making you want to eat more and more. I found it! By accident , because the recipe requires cream of tartar but I haven’t got any so I replace it with salt. Have a go and try it!

The cake:
2 ¼ cup cake flour
1 ½ cup sugar
1 tbs baking powder
½ tsp salt
¾ cold water
½ cup oil
3 eggs
vanilla
The cream:
200 ml whip cream
2 tbs sugar

Optional toppings:
strawberries, kiwi, orange, grapes, pineapple, assorted can fruit

How to make:
-separate egg yolk from whites
-beat the egg yolk with 1 cup sugar with an electric mixer until thick and white
-add slowly the oil
-add slowly the water
-add sifted  flour
-add vanilla, set aside
-in another bowl, beat the egg whites, sugar and salt with an electric mixer until stiff
-mix in the egg whites into the cake batter slowly until all blend well
-heat oven for 10 minutes
-prepare a cake pan (20cm diameter) and cover with non sticky paper
-add the batter and bake in low to medium heat for 30 minutes to one hour, depending on the oven
-take out, set aside until cool
-in a bowl, place ice water and place another bowl on top
-add in the whip cream and 2 tbs sugar until stiff, set aside
-cut the cake into clean shapes as you wish, set aside
-cut a cup of any fruits and mix with white cream
-fill each layer with the fruit and cream mixture
-fill a triangle shape plastic bag with cream and cover the whole cake with cream
-decorate it as you like

4 thoughts on “Mini Strawberry Cake

Leave a Reply

