Massaman Curry

Serves 3

Wow, CNN pols says that Thai Massaman Curry, a Southern Thai dish is the world most favorite and most delicious food in the world. I was very surprised. I have never taste or order this dish in Thai restaurants before. What I order will be the popular Tom Yum, my favorite Tom Kha Gai, fried screwpine chicken and pineapple fried rice. I didn’t mind at all until my friend challenge me to make some Gang Massaman.

I search for recipes from the internet and I found a convincing one from a chef on youtube. Ok, no worries, I’ve got all the ingredients in the kitchen but I ran out of peanuts. So, I was thinking what can I substitute it. Then I remember that candlenuts taste like nuts :D. At the first time, the result was delicious but it taste like the Padand fish head curry. So, I tasted..and tasted..and see what can be adjusted. I cook it again with a lot of adjustment and voila! Here it is..I am mad about it and so is my husband. Will you be mad about Gang Massaman too?

Ingredients:
6 chicken thigh
1 medium sized onions
4 garlic cloves
1 lemon grass
1 cm galangal
500 ml coconut milk
1 tbs roasted coconut
1 stick cinnamon
3 cloves
1 tbs coriander
1 tsp cumin
3 cardamom
2 bay leaves
3 candle nut
7 tsp chili paste
2 tsp shrimp paste
4-6 tbs fish sauce
1 tbs vinegar
¼ tsp tamarind paste

How to prepare:
-Wash the chicken, set aside
-cut onion into half, the one half cut into big chunks, the other into very little pieces
-crush candle nut with the back of your knife
-blender the candle nut, onion and garlic into a paste, set aside
-boil chicken with coconut milk in very low heat
-meanwhile, heat another pan with oil and fry the shrimp paste until fragrant
-crush cardamom with the back of your knife
-hit the stem of the lemon grass and cut it into 3 parts
-cut galangel into thin pieces
-add the onion paste, chili paste, tamarind, bay leaves, cardamom, cumin, coriander, cloves, cinnamon, roasted coconut, galangel, and lemongrass and fry it until the oil seperates for the paste, add into the coconut milk
-add vinegar and fish sauce
-taste it and cook until done

3 thoughts on “Massaman Curry

Leave a Reply

