Srikaya Spread

Makes One Jar

It’s end of the year and most of the people here in Japan exchange gifts. My neighbor got presents that she really hate, caster sugar candies. These I think are just 100% caster sugar, sometimes colored and molded into beautiful Sakura or other flowers. So she gave them to me. No worries, I will create them into other delicious food. I ran out of bread spread, so I thought filling the empty box will do the trick. Indonesian people like Srikaya spread, these are just coconut milk custard put in a jar. My favorites are those made customized by famous bakery chains in Jakarta. But they can be a pain in the wallet.

I really love srikaya spread since I was a little girl. Most of the time, I will scoop more than I need for the bread so that I can enjoy it little by little. One jar can fly in less than a week. I tried a recipe out of a mailing list chat, reading also their experience tips and tricks. Wow, it taste just the same as the one from my favorite bakery. Here is the recipe!

Ingredients:
1 cup coconut milk
1 cup caster sugar
1 screwpine leaf
1 egg yolk
1 egg
1 tsp butter

How to prepare:
-add water to pan and heat low, place another bowl on top and cook the coconut, sugar and screwpine leaf, whisk until dissolved
-whisk the egg yolk and the egg and pour little by little into the boiling bowl, keep keep stirring
-keep whisking or stirring gently with a wooden spoon making sure that the edge don’t get burnt
-add the butter when almost done
-pour into a jar by filtering it
-cool off

6 thoughts on “Srikaya Spread

Leave a Reply

