Lamb Kofta


Serves 3

The first time that I cooked Kofta was the week after the birth of my first daughter. I stock my kitchen with Pakistan number 1 spice mixes, that is was the label said, from Shan Food Industries. I had everything from the Tikkas, to the Kormas, to the Koftas. Every morning and afternoon I would just take something out of the fridge and sprinkle it with Shan spices. I really love the strong taste that it keeps, most of the prepared spices are losing its original taste so for this brand I am genuinely impressed.

I’ve always wanted to make a dish out of skewer koftas’ with some Kebuli or Biryani rice but for several years I haven’t found a recipe that gave beautiful outlook at the end of the making because minced meat tend to amalgamate roughly leaving a not so smooth texture on the out side. So, this time I look for a recipe based on images. This recipe from taste.com.au won my heart. The texture was perfect for presentation and the taste was what I was looking for. I did a little big of adjustment of course. It’s quite quick to prepare and looks lovely with the salad and fries.


Ingredients:

300 gr minced lamb
1 loaf of bread/ cup bread crumbs
3 garlic
2 tsp cumin powder
2 tsp coriander powder
1-2 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper
1 egg
1 cup of flour

How to make:

-make the garlic into a paste
-grate the bread into very fine pieces
-add all the ingredients except for the flour in a bowl and kneed for 15 minutes
-prepare the flour in another bowl and heat deep fry oil
-make small size balls, cover with flour the deep fry well
-let it cool a bit then assemble it on a stick
-serve with some salad and fries

Leave a Reply

