Dorayaki


Makes 10 pieces

When you about Japan to general people in Indonesia, most of them will reply “Ah, Doraemon…Dorayakiiii”. Yes, Doraemon, the cat that has a magic pouch that can pull up any gadgets to fix a situation is mad about Dorayaki. We in Indonesia also have our version that is similar but without fillings, kue cubit and kue apem. Maybe I will upload the recipes later on because I am mad about those goodies too.

Getting the right recipe for Dorayaki was a long journey for me. Literally, more than two years. I was looking for the taste from one of my favorite store. It was puffy, sweet and everything is in harmony. This time I got it right.

Ingredients:
1 large egg
1 cup flour
¾ cup sugar
2 tbs honey
½ tsp baking soda
½ tbs baking powder
⅓ cup milk
1 can japanese red bean paste

How to prepare:
-with an electric mixer, mix the egg and sugar until white and fluffy
-sieve flour and add the baking soda and baking powder
-add sieved flour and milk one after another, keep stirring
-add the honey
-heat non sticky pan in low flame
-add the mixture and make a round shape as big as a cup
-flip over when you see bubbles
-after making all, cool it off
-take one piece and add the red bean paste
-close it with another pancake

2 thoughts on “Dorayaki

  1. I love doroyaki! I always buy it at the Japanese bakery, but never thought about making my own. Thanks for sharing your recipe! I know how it feels to tinker with something until you get it just right. You should be proud, because it looks great! I bet it tastes amazing too!

Leave a Reply

