Soto Tangkar

Serves 4

There is a breakfast that I miss during my early career life, Soto Tangkar. I rented a shared house in Central Jakarta, it was clean and quite. Except for the person next door, a crazy maker, but in times I enjoyed being stuck in the living room with her babbling, oh let the dog bark..Anyway, the area was packed with good food, really good food. Next door was a fried noodle stall, never have I tasted fried noodle so tasty in my life. That I can’t do a remake, yet. Not far by foot, at night is the famous Kapau-Padang car stall with abundance of Padang food. I still don’t understand why I never tasted it. My favorite spot was the Pempek Palembang and Soto Tangkar stall for dinner and breakfast.

This was my debut making it and I combined it with beef paya as you can see from the picture. Overall taste is good but I recommend to make it just with beef with bone, no payas. The paya makes the soup sour and the broth opaque. I enjoyed it though!

Ingredients:
500 gr beef with bone
1 cup chopped potatoes
1-2 lt water
½ medium onion
2 garlic
3 dried chilis
5 candlenuts
1/ tsp coriander powder
¼ tsp fennel seeds
2 bay leaves
2 lemon grass
3 cm galangal
3 cm ginger
½-1 tsp cinnamon powder
400 ml coconut milk
1-2 tsp salt
1tsp sugar
pepper to taste
1 set glass noodles
1 big fresh tomato

How to prepare:

-boil the beef with bones for 30 minutes or until tender
-clean the foam
-add the potatoes
– make a paste of candlenuts, garlic, onion, dried chilis and ginger, saute the paste until fragrant
– cut the lemon grass into 3 pieces and crush the underpart of the stem
– cut the galangal into thin slices, set aside
-add the coriander powder, fennel seeds, bay leaves, lemongrass, galangal and cinnamon powder
-add the coconut milk
-add the sugar, salt, pepper
-when it almost done, add the glass noodles
-add chopped tomatoes when serving

Leave a Reply

