Sour Pumpkin Soup


Serves 4

Pumpkin, kabocha and squash are in season, they are in abundance with good price. I made everything from muffins, to soup and deserts. I really wanted to make pumpkin soup since quite a long while but I am looking for a tasty fresh taste. Most the recipes I tried adds to much spices that crashes with the sweetness of the kabocha natural taste. So, I gave this recipe that uses yoghurt as ingredients a try. I loved the sour taste, it was fresh and relieving. Great for a light snack.

Ingredients:
200 gr pumpkin/kabocha
1/2 medium onion
1 garlic
1/2 tsp coriander powder
1 tsp cumin powder
1/2 tsp nutmeg powder
1 cup chicken stock
1/2-1 cup yoghurt

How to prepare:
-cut the pumpkin into small pieces, take the outer side
-boil for 10 minutes in chicken stock, take out and add in a blender
-cut the onion into thin pieces, saute until soft and add in the blender
-add the yoghurt, nutmeg powder, cumin powder coriander powder salt and pepper

3 thoughts on “Sour Pumpkin Soup

  1. Yum, this looks great! I love putting yogurt in everything, especially savory dishes like curries… I will have to try adding yogurt to my kabocha soup sometime for sure!

Leave a Reply

