Fried Spanish Mackarel in Garo Rice Relish


Serves 2

Want to add some heat in this cold weather? Some Manado spices will do the trick. As I have told you in my earlier post that I love Manado food so much that I just can’t control myself if I go to Manado stalls for lunch. I will not stop until I get gastric pain (this happens only when I am in my fave stall. Spanish Mackerel is in season and I spiced it up with some garo relish. Yummy with hot rice.

Ingredients:
500 gr boneless Spanish Mackerel, cut into 4 cm dices
1 lime, take the juice
1 tsp salt

3 garlic cloves
2 cm ginger
5 long red chili
1 small onion, cut into thin slices

1 medium half ripe tomatoes, cut into dices
1 lemon grass, cut into 4 pieces then crush with the side of your knife
3 lime leaves
1 tsp salt
2 tsp sugar

How to prepare:
-wash, pat dry the Spanish Mackerel
-sprinkle with lime juice and salt, leave for 5 minutes
-heat oil and fry the Mackerel until cooked, drain oil, set aside
-make the garlic, ginger, red long chili into a paste, set aside
-in another pan, add some oil, saute the onion until golden brown
-add the garlic paste, saute until fragrant
-add the ripe tomatoes, lemon grass, lime leaves, salt and sugar, cook until the tomatoes are soft
-add the fried Mackerel, blend and cover
-turn of heat and serve

Leave a Reply

