Sea bream Milk Soup


Serves 4

As a students, me and some fellow friend flew to Singapore to attend a world event. I got in touch with one of my best friend and she accompanied me around town. It was nice to see her after a long while. The first time we met was in a sport day event. There was a marathon sprint activities so she challenge me a race. Ok, why not, I was very overweight at that time, what can I say there is always abundance of food at home and so many restaurant invitations. I kept on winning endurance wise and speed wise because I was very active in school athletics since junior high and competed for my school winning some trophies and medal that were kept in school. Since then we became best friend and her family became an extended family for me. So, for lunch she took me to one of her family’s’ favorite milk soup stalls and it was so delicious and since then I have never tasted any other stalls or restaurant that can make the taste come that close.

I looked up for some recipes and found some variations of preparations. At the end, this is what came close to the taste that I could recall from quite a while. It is suitable for cold days and very healthy too.

Ingredient:
300 gr Sea Bream meat
3 cloves garlic, cut into thin slices
1 small onion, cut into thin slices
1 lt water
1 cup fresh milk
1/3-1/2 cup Thai fish sauce
1 sachet consomme
1 lemongrass, cut into small pieces
3 lime leaves
3 cm ginger, cut into thin long sticks
150 gr assorted fish cakes/oden
1 medium half ripe tomatoes, cut into dices
1 small green onion, cut into small pieces

How to prepare:
-heat oil in pan, saute the garlic and onions until soft
-add the seabream and cook until meat turns white
-add the water
-add the thai fish sauce, consomme, lemon grass, lime leaves, ginger
-when it comes to a boil, add the milk
-add the tomatoes and green onion
-add the fish cakes/oden and cover for 3-5 minutes
-turn of heat

2 thoughts on “Sea bream Milk Soup

Leave a Reply

