Chicken Teriyaki and Poached Egg Rice Bowl

Chicken Teriyaki and Poached Egg

Serves 2

When I first came to Japan, I couldn’t stand the heavy strong taste of the egg yolk here. They are more creamy and thick compare to the watery and savory egg yolk from Indonesian chickens. As time flies, my family became addicted to its creamy texture. It goes well with negitoro don (recipe here) and another is this recipe, chicken teriyaki don. Here, you can buy, “onsen tamago”, half boiled egg in spa water but I prefer poached eggs instead.

Chicken Teriyaki
Ingredients:
2 chicken breast with skin, cut into dices
4 tbs soy sauce
4 tbs mirin
3 tbs sugar
3 cm ginger, grated

How to prepare:
-marinate the chicken with all the ingredients for 30 minutes
-heat pan with some oil
-drain the chicken and saute the chicken until half done
-add the remaining marinate water to the chicken and cover
-let it cook until the texture of the marinate become thick, turn of heat

Poached egg
Ingredients:
2 eggs
water

How to prepare:
-heat water in small pan in low flame
-when boil, break one egg inside
-tilt the pan half way with one hand
-with a spoon, scoop water and pour on top of the egg until all is evenly white, with your other hand
-turn of heat
-with a soup spoon scoop the poached egg and drain the water, set aside

How to assemble:
-add hot rice in a bowl
-decorate some of the chicken on top of it, leaving a concave in the middle
-add the poached egg in the middle

4 thoughts on “Chicken Teriyaki and Poached Egg Rice Bowl

  1. That looks so simple to prepare and so delicious too! I guess I never thought of making my own teriyaki marinade, which I must do now since I have all of those ingredients in my pantry. Thank you again, Mama Miyuki! Fascinating about the eggs too . . . I guess I never thought too much about how much a yolk could vary from country to country!

Leave a Reply

