Grilled Fish Head in Dabu-Dabu Sauce


Serves 2

I love Manado because I like their cooking a lot. When my colleagues and I had to go to Manado for a big event, we went out pigging out here and there. We stop by a stall at the edge of the sea and ordered grilled snapper head in dabu dabu relish. Dabu-dabu relish is chopped shallots, bird’s eye chili, green tomato with garlic paste, lime juice, salt and poured in hot oil. Oh wow, it goes so great with these snapper head. You might want to feast fish head with some dabu-dabu this summer.

Ingredients:
3 large snapper fish head
1 lime
1/2 tsp salt

How to prepare:
-wash and pat dry the fish head
-dilute salt with lime juice, spread evenly to the snapper head, leave for 20 minutes
-grill fish head on both sides evenly, set aside

Dabu-dabu relish:
-3 long green chilies, cut into small slices
-3 long red chilies, cut into small slices
-1 small onions, cut in half then thin slices, soak in ice water, drain, set aside
-1 small/medium half ripe tomatoes
-1/2 lime, take the juice only
-1 tsp sugar
-1 tsp salt
-1/2 cup vegetable oil

How to prepare:
-add all the ingredients in a bowl, mix well
-heat oil until hot and pour into the bowl

How to assemble:
-set fish head on plate
-add some dabu-dabu sauce on top

5 thoughts on “Grilled Fish Head in Dabu-Dabu Sauce

  1. I am not a fan of fish head. In fact I am scared of it. I cannot eat anything with a face on it, so I always make sure that the food served for me does not have a face! LoL
    Anyway, I have a recipe for Sulawesi style grilled chicken and I am going to try serve it with dabu dabu the next time I cook it. Thank you for the recipe! 😀

Leave a Reply

