Coconut Curry

Coconut Based Curry
Serves 4

Coconut curry is basically a blend between fried dried chilies oil, coconut and turmeric. These type of curry can be found in Asian countries with influence from Indian cuisine. When I made this, my husband was out of town so I had the whole pot to eat by myself. I am not a big fan of these type of curry but Oh my God! this recipe was so good that I couldn’t stop eating. When the content was all eaten, I sought for more vegetables and meat from the fridge because I did not want to throw away the gravy that was so delicious. I was too lazy to make some chili so I got a pot of Rayu, dried chili, garlic and fried shallots in oil.rayu
The taste of this curry is similar to “Lontong Sayur Betawi”, a Jakarta favorite breakfast menu. They eat the curry with rice cakes. You can substitute the chicken wings with 300 gr chicken gizzard too. One of our favorite restaurant to go to is Kanako curry. They serve this kind of curry in various servings. My favorite is with their grilled chicken and yellow rice

Ingredients:
6 chicken wings
2 medium carrot, diced
2 cups cabbage, cut
1 cup green beans, cut
5 ocra, cut like a flower
2 chilies, cut like a flower
2 cloves chilies, crushed cut
1 small onion, thinly sliced
5 tbs rayu (less if it is too hot)
100 ml coconut milk
3/4 tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp coriander powder
3 tbs soyu
1-2 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar
1 lt water

How to prepare:

-saute the garlic and onion in light oil until fragrant
-add the rayu, turmeric powder, coriander powder, soyu, mix well
-add the coconut milk, stir well
-add the chicken and potatoes, boil for 5 minutes
-add the green beans
-add the cabbage
-add the ocra and chilies
-add the salt and sugar to taste

2 thoughts on “Coconut Curry

Leave a Reply

