Padang Chili Crab

padang chili crab
Serves 2

Crabs were cheap in the market so I bought a bunch. I cleaned it up and toss it in the fridge until I forgot I had bought them. One day, my husband got a call from Indonesia and told me that a senior colleague will visit us soon. He also wanted to test my cooking skills in Padang cuisine. I told him “bring it on!”. So, I pulled out the crab and decided to make some Padang chili crab to snack with my husband while plan for his visit. The taste is similar like Singapore chili crab. We enjoyed eating the chili sauce with toast which was sweet and had lost it’s spiciness.

Ingredient:
3 small/medium crab
5 cm ginger
1/2 tsp salt

Sambal ayam pop here
3 cloves garlic, crushed, and chopped
100 ml coconut milk
2 tbs brown/coconut sugar
2 tbs tomato ketchup
2 egg, cracked and battered

How to prepare:
-clean and boil the crab for 10-15 minutes in water, salt and ginger
-drain, set aside
-in a large pan, saute the garlic until fragrant
-add the sambal ayam pop
-add the brown sugar and tomato ketchup
-add the egg while still stirring
-add the crab and mix thorough

10 thoughts on “Padang Chili Crab

Leave a comment