Fried Crab Leg (Yeung Hai Kim)

Fried crab leg
Makes 14 pieces

When I was a little girl, my mom would take us to the market every week and we will buy a box of big fat fried crab leg. One box has 50 pieces of them. It was just all crab meat and nothing else, so can you imagine how extremely delicious it taste. I miss those crab legs very much. There are aleady made crab legs but they cover it with cheap tasting fish balls and when it comes to the meat, they were so thin and tasted like meat being frozen in the freezer for ages.

crab legs

So I bought a package of crab legs. They were as big as the size of my thumbs. For sure they looked pretty, but frying it just like take will not do the trick. So, I had a kilo of minced chicken in the fridge, I guess I might add this to thicken the structure of the crab leg before adding the bread crumbs. I search for recipes and stumble to the guru of Asian Dumpling with Yeung Hai Kim recipe. and adjusted the recipe a bit.

Fried crab legs

The minced chicken meat was elastic and slender, which perfectly was easy in covering the crab leg. The bread crumb stick perfectly and brown beautifully. Oh boy they tasted very delicious, eat them while it is hot with Thai sweet sauce. Perfect for the Friday Fiesta.

Ingredients:
14 crab claws

300 gr minced chicken
2 tbs scallion, chopped
1 tsp oyster sauce
1 egg, the white only
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp cornstarch
1 tsp sugar
1/4 tsp salt
a dash of white pepper

2 eggs, beatened
3 tbs water
2-3 cups bread crumbs

How to prepare:
-add the minced chicken, scallion, oyster sauce, egg white, sesame oil, cornstarch, sugar, salt and white pepper in a bowl, blend well
-take some of the minced chicken
-make a ball shape then flatten
-cover the crab leg with the minced chicken
-heat deep fry oil
-in a bowl add the beaten egg and water
-add the crab leg in the beatened egg
-drop it in the bread crumb mixture
-fry them golden brown

20 thoughts on “Fried Crab Leg (Yeung Hai Kim)

  1. They look so tempting, Miyuki! What creative use of crab claws. I think I’ve had these before in some fancy restaurant. I’m going to have to give them a try if I ever hold a fancy party. Or not so fancy, ‘coz otherwise I’d never try them since my parties are rarely fancy. 🙂 Btw, I linked your photo for you. You’re welcome, lol…

  2. Beautiful. I love your blog and so happy to find you at Fiesta Friday. I think I’ll just park it here for awhile and take a look at your wonderful recipes. Looking forward to keeping in touch Miyuki.

Leave a Reply

