Syrup shaved ice

Syrup shaved ice

Serves 3

The weather is getting hotter and Mama Miyuki would like to post all her favorite shaved ice recipes. This debut edition is shaved ice with ordinary syrup or flavored soda. I remember when I was a little girl in elementary school. The weather was always very hot and as a child, I was always tempted for these bright colored shaved ice. My parents always reminded me not to buy them because they use non cooked water which can bring you stomach ache. I never listened and always got one of these at break time. Of course I can’t hide it as I will cry out loud at home having severe stomach ache and my mom would wine and wine and wine. Still I love shaved ice no matter what.

Ingredients:
Shaved ice enough for 3 portions
Flavored colored soda (Fanta,etc)
Light colorful syrup

Make your own syrup by boiling:
3/4 cup water
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp coloring

How to prepare:
-add shave ice in a cup
-pour some soda or syrup on top

One thought on “Syrup shaved ice

  1. This reminds me of the shaved ice I used to have while living in Hawaii. You have a choice of adding sweetened red azuki beans at the bottom, then shaved ice topped with ice cream. Delicious! It’s a great treat to have in a hot sunny day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

