Gulab Jamun

Gulab Jamun

Makes 12 pieces

My most favorite Indian sweets is gulab jamun. I love it so much that I like to buy it for take out at lunch time. They are very expensive in Jakarta. 3 pieces for 18,000 Rupiahs. You can have 2 complete set of rice with meat and veggies for that price. It took me 5 years to find a simple but effective recipe to make these. Most of my mistakes were too watery dough, the dough falls apart by frying, and the dough taste like doughnuts because I add too much flour to amend the previous mistake. Luckily this simple recipe from myninjanaan made my day. I guess I nailed it!

Ingredients:
Dough:

1 cup milk powder
1/2 cup flour (sieve)
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 tbs butter
adjusted amount of fresh milk

Syrup:
2 cups sugar
1 cup water
5 cardamom pods, crushed
a pinch of safron

How to prepare:
-in a bowl, add the milk powder, flour, and baking soda together, mix evenly
-kneed in the butter with a fork then with you finger
-kneed to form a ball that doesn’t stick to you hands
-made little balls
-deep fry them in new oil for golden brown
-take out drain and set aside

-in a pan add sugar and water
-when boiling add the cardamon and let it cook for 3 minutes
-add the saffron and stir
-add the dough and let it sit until the syrup drench the dough

3 thoughts on “Gulab Jamun

  1. Thank you so much for trying it! These look wonderful!
    I have just a small tip for you- if you want your gulab jamun to swell up and be round, the best thing to do is cook the sugar syrup first and once it’s ready put it on low heat, then fry the gulab jamun and once they’re done put them directly from the oil into the warm syrup. That should help them swell up nicely 🙂
    Great job! I’m so happy that you enjoyed my recipe, and more than anything I am grateful that you put trust in my words and gave my recipe a shot 🙂

Leave a Reply

