Corn and Sago in Coconut Milk

sago corn in coconut
Serves 2

I was actually going to make some ‘bubur pacar cina’ but I didn’t have the base ingredients. I was craving for it so badly, so I dig my cupboard to see whether I had left over ingredients that resembles the ‘pacar cina’. I found some sago pearls and looked for a recipe in the internet. ‘Sago, corn and coconut milk’, that’s what I had read and it caught my attention. So, I made some and loved it immediately. There is an Indonesian cake that had the same ingredients. But it was a cake folded in plastic paper.

Ingredients:
1 cup sago pearl
2 cups warm water

750 ml water
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup canned corn kernels

200 ml light coconut milk
1/2 tsp salt

How to prepare:
-soak sago pearls in warm water for 15-30 minutes
-boil water and add the sago pearls and sugar
-cook for 15-20 minutes or until there is no white dots in the sago pearls
-add the corn kernels and cook for 2 minutes, turn off

-in another pan boil the coconut milk and salt
-stir well and turn off

How to serve:
-add the sago in a bowl
-add some of the light coconut milk

15 thoughts on “Corn and Sago in Coconut Milk

  1. I love all sago and coconut milk based desserts! My favourite is mango pomelo sago in coconut milk with a scoop of green tea – I get it every time I go to Hong Kong. This looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

