Stir Fry Squid in Black Ink

O
Serves 2

A lunch buffet stall menu, “stir fry squid in black ink”, they usually use the small squid and add chopped green chilies. Large squids is here in season and I change the green chili to chopped green onion. Squid black ink gives that unique tasty flavor to the dish. I couldn’t have enough and it was so easy to prepare.

Ingredients:
2 large squid
4 cloves garlic
1 cm ginger
1 green onion, take the green part only
1 tsp salt
a dash of pepper

How to prepare:
-clean the squid, keep the ink, cut it into small pieces/rings
-crush garlic with the side of your knife, cut into small dices
-cut ginger into two, the crush the ginger with something heavy
-cut the green onion into small pieces
-saute the garlic until fragrant
-add the squid and the ink
-add salt and pepper
-stir gently
-when it’s cooked, add the green onion

4 thoughts on “Stir Fry Squid in Black Ink

  1. Every time I go to Japan, I have to have “ika-sumi spaghetti”. Next time I should buy the ink in the can at the market, as I have not found them in USA. I did not know that you can get the squid with its ink still intact.

Leave a comment